Ruben Limonjyan | April 6, 2022 | Sexual Harassment
Is There a Statute of Limitations for Sexual Harassment Claims in CA?
Need To File A Sexual Harassment Claim In California? Your Time Is Limited
You have been sexually harassment at work. You may feel ashamed. You may feel embarrassed. You may feel overwhelmed. However the harassment occurred, your life has – in one way or another – fundamentally changed.
For victims of sexual harassment, it can seem as though there is nowhere to turn. No safe space. No recourse for the wrongs they have experienced. Standing up to your employer and asserting your rights can seem downright frightening.
While the decision to seek a sexual harassment claim is yours to make, there is limited time for you to make your case. Federal and state laws have a set time limit known as a Statute of Limitations. Though it may be daunting, contacting an attorney for help as soon as you are able will help you build the strong case possible.
Know that you are not alone. At Limonjayan Law Group, we have helped victims of sexual harassment seek compensation for their pain. Contact our office today to speak with a sexual harassment attorney.
Why Is Your Time Limited?
A Statute of Limitations is a law that restricts you from filing a lawsuit or claim past a specified time limit. The duration set by a statute of limitation varies depending on the type of case and the jurisdiction. In California, for example, the time limit to file for a personal injury claim is two years after the harassment incident. However, the statute of limitations for sexual harassment cases at the workplace is different.
The Equal Employment Opportunity Commission has strict limits on workplace sexual abuse claims. Generally, plaintiffs have 180 days to file a sexual harassment claim. However, this time limit can be affected by state laws and extend to 300 days.
The sooner you begin pursuing your claim, the sooner you will feel in control over your situation. Start by having a conversation with a lawyer about the harassment you experienced. At Limonjyan Law Group, the consultation is free and there is no obligation to pursue your claim if you do not feel like it is right for you.
You May Have More Time Than You Think
The Assembly Bill 1619 was signed by Governor Gavin Newsom on October 10, 2019, and came to effect in January 2020. The bill allowed survivors who might have surpassed their time limits to file claims against their perpetrators. Under the bill, before you file a civil lawsuit, you have to file a charge with the Department of Fair Employment or Housing (DEFH) first. Under this law, you have ten years from the date of the last harassment incident to file a claim, and three years from the date you discovered the injuries.
Should You Hire A Lawyer?
If you or someone you know has experienced any form of sexual harassment, you should take action immediately. Hesitating to take the first step could prevent you from fully asserting your rights and pursuing the justice you deserve. If you fail to file a claim within the statute of limitations, your case will be dismissed.
A sexual harassment attorney will help you discover your legal options and help you file a claim or lawsuit before the deadline. Your attorney will then manage the case on your behalf to ensure it goes as efficiently and fast as possible. A Los Angeles sexual harassment attorney will advise you on the most appropriate time to file the claim.
Take The First Step – Schedule A Consultation Today
At Limonjyan Law Group, we know that you are feeling conflicted about taking action against your employer. You may need time to process your feelings, emotions, and thoughts. Lean on us during this time. We will take your sexual harassment case and handle everything from beginning to end. You will feel empowered, in control and fully supported. Contact us online or call us at 213-277-7444 for a confidential and comprehensive consultation today.